Find my best card →
Kotak Mahindra Bank · Not specified · हिन्दी

Kotak Air Credit Card: full review

The Kotak Air Credit Card is a straightforward, low-fee entry point into Kotak's Air Miles ecosystem, with welcome and renewal bonuses that meaningfully offset its ₹999 fee. Its real limitation is the complete absence of any fee waiver and a relatively high 3.5% forex markup - if you spend enough to actually benefit from lounge access and heavier travel booking, Kotak's own Air+ variant is worth comparing directly, since it offers a lower forex rate and higher earning caps for a higher fee.

Apply now ↗Annual fee: ₹999 + GST
Last updated: September 2026 · Current terms verified
KOTAK MAHINDRA B
)))
AIR
ASHOK KUMAR
12/28
₹999 + GST joining and annual - confirmed from the official KFS as having no spend-based waiver condition at all, unlike some other Kotak cardsAnnual fee
3 Air Miles per ₹100 on flight/hotel bookings via Kotak Unbox, capped at 5,000 Air Miles per statement cycle (reverts to 1 Air Mile/₹100 above that); 1 Air Mile per ₹100 on all other eligible spends, uncapped; 1 Air Mile = ₹1 for flight/hotel redemption, or ₹0.50 for instant vouchers via Kotak Unbox; transferable to airline/hotel partners at a ratio sources describe inconsistently as either 2:1 or 3:1Reward structure
4 domestic visits/year (capped at 2/quarter), gated behind ₹60,000+ spend in the previous calendar quarter; no international lounge access at all; ₹2 validation charge per visitLounge access
3 Air Miles per ₹100 on Kotak Unbox flight/hotel bookings, capped at 5,000/statement cycle1 Air Mile per ₹100 on all other spends, uncapped1,000 Air Miles welcome bonus within 120 days of joining fee payment1,000 Air Miles renewal bonus within 30 days of annual fee payment4 domestic lounge visits/year, gated behind ₹60,000 quarterly spend1% fuel surcharge waiver on transactions between ₹500-5,000, capped at ₹3,500/yearAir Miles valid for 3 years from accrual
Apply now ↗ Min. income: Not publicly specified · Credit score: Not publicly specified
Pros and cons
Pros
✓ Genuinely low ₹999 fee for a travel-focused Air Miles card
✓ Welcome and renewal bonuses meaningfully offset the annual fee
✓ Straightforward, easy-to-understand 2-tier reward structure
Cons
✗ No spend-based fee waiver exists at all, confirmed from official terms - the ₹999 fee is unconditional every year
✗ 3.5% forex markup is high for a travel card, and notably worse than Kotak's own Air+ variant
✗ Lounge access requires hitting a ₹60,000 quarterly spend threshold, unlike some competing cards
✗ No international lounge access at all
✗ Broad exclusions: utility, insurance, education, government, rent, fuel, wallet loading, EMI, gaming and cash advances all earn zero Air Miles
✗ Network type isn't confirmed by any source reviewed
✗ Real value is concentrated on the Kotak Unbox platform specifically
Quick facts
Issuer Kotak Mahindra Bank
Network Not specified
Annual feeThe yearly fee a bank charges for holding the card, often waived if you spend enough in a year.Full definition → ₹999 + GST joining and annual - confirmed from the official KFS as having no spend-based waiver condition at all, unlike some other Kotak cards
Joining feeA one-time fee charged when you first get the card, separate from the recurring annual fee.Full definition → ₹999
Lounge accessFree entry to airport lounges, usually limited to a set number of visits per quarter or year.Full definition → 4 domestic visits/year (capped at 2/quarter), gated behind ₹60,000+ spend in the previous calendar quarter; no international lounge access at all; ₹2 validation charge per visit
Forex markupThe extra fee your bank adds on top of the real exchange rate for any spend in a foreign currency.Full definition → 3.5% (confirmed from the official KFS; notably higher than the Air+ variant's 2%)
Min. incomeThe minimum income, credit score, and other conditions a bank requires before approving your application.Full definition → Not publicly specified
Min. credit scoreYour 3-digit credit score (300-900), higher scores make approval easier and can unlock better cards.Full definition → Not publicly specified
SourceKotak Mahindra Bank's published card terms and official card page · Last updated September 2026
Calculate your annual benefit

Enter your typical monthly spend to see exactly how much you'd earn with this card.

₹
₹
₹
₹
₹
₹
Enter your monthly spend above to see your benefit
Frequently asked questions
The annual fee for Kotak Air Credit Card is ₹999 + GST joining and annual - confirmed from the official KFS as having no spend-based waiver condition at all, unlike some other Kotak cards. The joining fee is ₹999.
3 Air Miles per ₹100 on flight/hotel bookings via Kotak Unbox, capped at 5,000 Air Miles per statement cycle (reverts to 1 Air Mile/₹100 above that); 1 Air Mile per ₹100 on all other eligible spends, uncapped; 1 Air Mile = ₹1 for flight/hotel redemption, or ₹0.50 for instant vouchers via Kotak Unbox; transferable to airline/hotel partners at a ratio sources describe inconsistently as either 2:1 or 3:1
Kotak Air Credit Card is best for Occasional travelers wanting a simple, low-fee entry point into Air Miles, more suited to light spenders than Kotak's own Air+ variant. The Kotak Air Credit Card is a straightforward, low-fee entry point into Kotak's Air Miles ecosystem, with welcome and renewal bonuses that meaningfully offset its ₹999 fee. Its real limitation is the complete absence of any fee waiver and a relatively high 3.5% forex markup - if you spend enough to actually benefit from lounge access and heavier travel booking, Kotak's own Air+ variant is worth comparing directly, since it offers a lower forex rate and higher earning caps for a higher fee.
The minimum income requirement for Kotak Air Credit Card is Not publicly specified. A minimum credit score of Not publicly specified is also recommended.
Yes, Kotak Air Credit Card offers 4 domestic visits/year (capped at 2/quarter), gated behind ₹60,000+ spend in the previous calendar quarter; no international lounge access at all; ₹2 validation charge per visit.
Kotak Air Credit Card charges a 3.5% (confirmed from the official KFS; notably higher than the Air+ variant's 2%) foreign currency markup on international transactions. This is in line with the standard 3.5% charged by most Indian credit cards.
Related guides
Best Travel Credit Cards →Best Premium Credit Cards →Best Super Premium Credit Cards →Best Credit Cards for International Travel →Best Airline Credit Cards →
Card reviews
IDFC FIRST Ashva Credit CardFrequent travellers who book hotels and flights through the IDFC FIRST Bank app specifically, where the real redemption value is highest; weak for everyday spending outside the appAxis Bank Select Credit CardHigher spenders (₹6L+ income) who will spend ₹3L+ a year, want international lounge access through Priority Pass with 12 visits, and want a 2% earn rate on everyday retail spendsAxis Bank Privilege Credit CardModerate-to-high spenders in the ₹6-15L income range who will hit the lounge spend gate every quarter and want a simple, uncapped reward rate without chasing accelerated categoriesRBL Bank IRCTC Credit CardFrequent IRCTC train travellers who will use the railway lounges and want cancellation protection, not a general-purpose rewards card
Compare with similar cards
Kotak Air vs IndusInd Bank Tiger Compare →Kotak Air vs Kotak Air+ Compare →
Embed this card
Add this widget to your site
Writing a review or comparison for the Kotak Air Credit Card? Embed this live widget. It always shows our current, verified fee and reward rate, so it never goes stale.
Live preview
<iframe src="https://faayda.com/embed/kotak-air"
  width="420" height="260"
  frameborder="0"></iframe>
No sign-up · Free to use
Kotak Air₹999 + GST
Apply now ↗