Find my best card →
Comparison · हिन्दी

Kotak Air vs Kotak Air+

Both cards compared on real rupee returns for Kotak Air vs Kotak Air+ which better Kotak travel card India. We ran the numbers so you can make the right call.

Last updated: September 2026 · Based on current card terms
KOTAK MAHI
AIR
ASHOK KUMAR
VS
KOTAK MAHI
AIR+
ASHOK KUMAR
Our verdict
Kotak Air Credit Card wins for most people
Card A wins with ₹681 annual benefit versus Card B's ₹360, despite lower rewards rates. The ₹999 fee is substantially lower than Card B's ₹3,000, making it the better choice for this ₹14,000 monthly spend profile.
Side-by-side comparison
Kotak Air Credit Card ✓ Kotak Air+ Credit Card
Annual benefit ₹681 ₹360
Annual feeThe yearly fee a bank charges for holding the card, often waived if you spend enough in a year.Full definition → ₹999 + GST joining and annual - confirmed from the official KFS as having no spend-based waiver condition at all, unlike some other Kotak cards ₹3,000 + GST joining and annual (single-sourced figure; official Kotak T&C lists this card among those with a spend-based fee waiver, naming Rent, Wallet, Utility, Education and Transportation as excluded categories, but a separate third-party review claims no spend waiver exists at all - genuinely contradictory, exact threshold unconfirmed)
Reward rateCashback pays you directly in rupees; reward points need converting first, and their real value depends on the redemption ratio.Full definition → 3 Air Miles per ₹100 on flight/hotel bookings via Kotak Unbox, capped at 5,000 Air Miles per statement cycle (reverts to 1 Air Mile/₹100 above that); 1 Air Mile per ₹100 on all other eligible spends, uncapped; 1 Air Mile = ₹1 for flight/hotel redemption, or ₹0.50 for instant vouchers via Kotak Unbox; transferable to airline/hotel partners at a ratio sources describe inconsistently as either 2:1 or 3:1 5 Air Miles per ₹100 on flight and hotel bookings via the Kotak Unbox app, capped at 15,000 Air Miles per statement cycle (reverts to base rate above that); 2 Air Miles per ₹100 on all other eligible spends; 1 Air Mile = ₹1 when redeemed via Kotak Unbox, or transferable to 9 airline/hotel partners at a weak 2:1 to 3:1 ratio
Lounge accessFree entry to airport lounges, usually limited to a set number of visits per quarter or year.Full definition → 4 domestic visits/year (capped at 2/quarter), gated behind ₹60,000+ spend in the previous calendar quarter; no international lounge access at all; ₹2 validation charge per visit 2 international visits/year via Priority Pass (primary cardholder only, $1 validation charge auto-reversed within 7 days) plus 4 domestic visits/year, capped at 2 per quarter (₹2 validation charge per visit)
Forex markupThe extra fee your bank adds on top of the real exchange rate for any spend in a foreign currency.Full definition → 3.5% (confirmed from the official KFS; notably higher than the Air+ variant's 2%) 2%
Best for Occasional travelers wanting a simple, low-fee entry point into Air Miles, more suited to light spenders than Kotak's own Air+ variant Travelers who will consistently book flights and hotels through the Kotak Unbox app and redeem miles there directly, rather than transferring to partner programs
Min. incomeThe minimum income, credit score, and other conditions a bank requires before approving your application.Full definition → Not publicly specified Not publicly specified beyond "a regular source of income"; age 21-60 for primary cardholder, 18+ for add-on, Indian resident
Credit scoreYour 3-digit credit score (300-900), higher scores make approval easier and can unlock better cards.Full definition → Not publicly specified Not publicly specified
When each card wins
Kotak Air Credit Card
Choose Card A if you spend moderately (under ₹20,000/month) and want maximum value without high annual fees. The low fee structure makes it profitable even with modest rewards earnings.
Kotak Air+ Credit Card
Choose Card B only if you book flights/hotels frequently through Kotak Unbox and can redeem miles directly at ₹1 per mile, offsetting the higher ₹3,000 fee through premium redemption rates.
Who should get which card
Get Kotak Air if you…
· Low ₹999 annual fee with no spend waiver conditions
· Better suited for moderate spenders and occasional travelers
· Straightforward 1 Air Mile per ₹100 on non-bookings
· Higher net annual benefit (₹681) after all fees
Get Kotak Air+ if you…
· Higher rewards on flight/hotel bookings (5x via Kotak Unbox)
· Best if you consistently redeem miles at ₹1 value via Kotak Unbox
· Stronger earning on core travel spends if used strategically
· Better for frequent flyers maximizing app-based redemptions
Partner offer
IDFC FIRST Ashva Credit Card
Frequent travellers who book hotels and flights through the IDFC FIRST Bank app specifically, where the real redemption value is highest; weak for everyday spending outside the app
Apply now →
IDFC
ASHOK KUMAR

See which card suits your exact spending

Get a personalised rupee estimate based on how you actually spend

Try the tool →

Already have one of these cards?

Upload your credit card statement. We'll show your real cashback, catch subscriptions, and flag if you're leaving money on the table

Analyse my statement →
Related guides
IDFC FIRST Ashva vs Kotak Air+ →Kotak Air vs IndusInd Bank Tiger →Kotak Air+ vs IndusInd Bank Tiger →Best Travel Credit Cards →Best Premium Credit Cards →Best Super Premium Credit Cards →
Frequently asked questions
Based on our analysis, Kotak Air Credit Card offers better annual returns for most spend profiles.
Kotak Air Credit Card has an annual fee of ₹999 + GST joining and annual - confirmed from the official KFS as having no spend-based waiver condition at all, unlike some other Kotak cards. Kotak Air+ Credit Card has an annual fee of ₹3,000 + GST joining and annual (single-sourced figure; official Kotak T&C lists this card among those with a spend-based fee waiver, naming Rent, Wallet, Utility, Education and Transportation as excluded categories, but a separate third-party review claims no spend waiver exists at all - genuinely contradictory, exact threshold unconfirmed).
Kotak Air Credit Card offers 3 Air Miles per ₹100 on flight/hotel bookings via Kotak Unbox, capped at 5,000 Air Miles per statement cycle (reverts to 1 Air Mile/₹100 above that); 1 Air Mile per ₹100 on all other eligible spends, uncapped; 1 Air Mile = ₹1 for flight/hotel redemption, or ₹0.50 for instant vouchers via Kotak Unbox; transferable to airline/hotel partners at a ratio sources describe inconsistently as either 2:1 or 3:1. Kotak Air+ Credit Card offers 5 Air Miles per ₹100 on flight and hotel bookings via the Kotak Unbox app, capped at 15,000 Air Miles per statement cycle (reverts to base rate above that); 2 Air Miles per ₹100 on all other eligible spends; 1 Air Mile = ₹1 when redeemed via Kotak Unbox, or transferable to 9 airline/hotel partners at a weak 2:1 to 3:1 ratio.
Kotak Air Credit Card lounge access: 4 domestic visits/year (capped at 2/quarter), gated behind ₹60,000+ spend in the previous calendar quarter; no international lounge access at all; ₹2 validation charge per visit. Kotak Air+ Credit Card lounge access: 2 international visits/year via Priority Pass (primary cardholder only, $1 validation charge auto-reversed within 7 days) plus 4 domestic visits/year, capped at 2 per quarter (₹2 validation charge per visit).
Kotak Air Credit Card charges 3.5% (confirmed from the official KFS; notably higher than the Air+ variant's 2%) forex markup. Kotak Air+ Credit Card charges 2% forex markup.